USA – There And Back Again

This morning we departed Philadelphia, and travelled by bus to New York. This journey was the shortest of our trip at only 2 hours. We. Soon arrived in New York, and we’re ready to travel across the city towards the airport.

We took the subway from the bus station all the way to Jamaica (the district of NY) JFK Station. At this point I parted ways with Sam, Stephen and Steph and took the airtrain towards the airport. It was a disappointing moment as our adventure was finally over, it has been fantastic, I am now exhausted.

When I arrived at the airport I discovered that due to the baggage handler strikes my flight was to be delayed by at least 5 hours until 3:20am. I was given the option to check in for that flight or to queue for a possible earlier flight. I decided to try the wait, and lots of other Camp America people were doing the same.

After about 3 hours of waiting we were told that they had found 60 spare seats on an American Airlines flight and we could swap to this new flight. I accepted the offer and was given a £250 voucher for a future Virgin flight. This was great, but it did present another problem…American Airlines operates from a different terminal, and the flight departs 2h earlier than my original flight, giving me very little time to get there!

I quickly took the airtrain to Terminal 8 and checked my bag in with American Airlines. After a long queue for security I was finally nearly ready for my flight. I quickly bought some snacks and some gifts from the shop before grabbing a quick McDonalds and waiting in the departure lounge.

Just as I finished eating I needed to queue to board the plane, and eventually I was onboard. The plane was cool, it seemed very new, with an advanced entertainment system, wifi (pay) and plug sockets. The flight was about 6.5h, which I attempted to sleep for, with little luck.

I quickly went through customs before reclaiming my bag and entering the arrivals hall. After instructions from Mum I headed to the pick up area and quickly was on my way back towards Lowestoft. After a fairly short journey in the car I arrived home and was able to sleep and recover from my busy days travelling and jet lag.

The trip is now over, it has been awesome, I now have the next 2 weeks to catch up with everyone and sort our stuff before starting university! I will upload photos and videos ASAP.

Leave a comment