Wide Range of Activites

This morning I started with teaching archery, this was cool as I was able to teach the kids the technique I learnt at Explorers, and they showed massive improvements in accuracy and precision.

After this, for second period, we were swimming, the weather has been quite cold today with cloudy skies and northernly winds, which meant it was a bit chilly! However the kids had fun swimming out to the blue raft and back as well as playing water volleyball in the red area.

For sailing instruction, all the kids were able to go out sailing in butterflies. This was a bit challenging to control all the many boats, but there were lots of us counselors helping to launch and shout instructions to the kids.

For G-Swim I was on the guard row boat with Jarrod (from Australia) who I was able to chat to. He and some other counselors are doing some travelling after camp up to Canada then to some highlights of the USA and their trip goes to some of the places we go on our travels, so we may be able to meet up at some point. To get around the Visa difficulties for return to USA they have applied for ESTA like a normal holiday. If this option works ok, it may be viable for me to travel to Canada after camp next year if I do return to camp.

This evening I have started my day off (as I have my final scuba dive tomorrow), this time it was more exciting, I was able to join some of the others for a meal in the nearby town at a restaurant called Shorts (The restaurant was a microbrewery restaurant [similar to where we went in colorado] with a great atmosphere and live music. The pizza was fantastic and it was nice to drink coca cola after drinking water/juice at camp everyday [except banquet].) This was very nice and was nice to get a short break away from camp!

Tomorrow night we hope the weather will be ok to camp out in the newly built Hammock Forest, which the kids are really excited about, and will be a great experience.

Everyone here at camp seems to read a lot (during rest period), I have almost finished reading the Bear Grylls book (True Grit) this is a fantastic read, and would be very interested in reading another one of his books.Thank you Nanny & Grandad for giving me the book!

I have recently purchased a camp hoodie, this is really warm, and staff can get names on the back for $0.25 per letter, so I have got one with ADAMS on the back, which looks really cool. I have also bought a quick-dry camp t-shirt which is really handy as it can be easily washed and dried. The only other camp clothing I have got is the staff shirt and the 110th anniversary shirt which was free for all staff. My cabin has laundry next week before our trip, which will be very helpful as it is easier than hand washing clothes.

We head off on our sailing trip on tuesday/wednesday next week, this is really exciting and we will plan our route in the next few days, with the route almost following the Canadian border but remaining on the US Side (because the kids do not take passports). From everyones descriptions, the islands are really cool, but the nights sky is completely clear with fantastic views of the stars, I just hope we have some nice weather!!!

One thought on “Wide Range of Activites

  1. Sounds like you are still having a great time, it would be really nice to meet up with some of the others whilst on your travels after camp. Glad you have managed to get a trip out for pizza and coke!

Leave a comment